Manti Te’o, Johnny Manziel and Montee Ball among Award Recipients at The Home Depot College Football Awards at Disney

Disney Spirit Award presented to Texas long snapper Nate Boyer; Te’o tops list with Player of the Year and Bednarik honors

Linebacker Manti Te’o of Notre Dame, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M and Montee Ball of Wisconsin each claimed top awards during the 22nd annual The Home Depot College Football Awards hosted by Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Steele on ESPN Thursday night live from the Atlantic Dance Hall Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Te’o, a senior from Laie, Hawaii, won the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year and the Chuck Bednarik Award for college defensive player of the year. The winner of the Maxwell Award has gone on to win the Heisman 33 times.  Manziel, a freshman from Kerrville, Texas, earned the Davey O’Brien Award for the nation’s outstanding quarterback and Ball, a senior from Wentzville, Mo., won the Doak Walker Award for the nation’s outstanding running back.

Other notable awards included the presentation of Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly with The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; legendary Notre Dame football coach Ara Parseghian washonored with the NCFAA Contribution to College Football Award; Texas long snapper Nate Boyer received the Disney Spirit Award; and Nebraska senior running back Rex Burkhead from Nebraska was named the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain- a community service award determined by college football fan voters for the work players conduct off the field.


Award / Presented By

Finalists and Winner

Chuck Bednarik Award

College Defensive Player of the Year

ESPN Analyst David Pollack

Manti Te’o (Notre Dame)
Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina)
Jarvis Jones (Georgia)

Biletnikoff Award

Nation’s Outstanding Receiver

Steve Largent

Marqise Lee (USC)Stedman Bailey (West Virginia)Terrance Williams (Baylor)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker

Morten Anderson

Cairo Santos (Tulane)
Dustin Hopkins (FSU)
Caleb Sturgis (Florida)

Ray Guy Award

Nation’s Outstanding Punter

Ray Guy*

Ryan Allen (La Tech)*
Kyle Christy (Florida)Scott Kovanda (Ball State)

Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year

Charlie Ward

Manti Te’o (Notre Dame)
Collin Klein (Kansas State)Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Nation’s Best Quarterback

ESPN Analyst Todd Blackledge

Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)Collin Klein (Kansas State)Braxton Miller (Ohio State)

Outland Trophy

Nation’s Outstanding Interior Lineman

Will Shields*

Luke Joeckel (Texas A&M)
Jonathan Cooper (UNC)Barrett Jones (Alabama)*

Jim Thorpe Award

Nation’s Outstanding Defensive Back

Barry Switzer* & Gov. Bill Anoatubby

Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State)
Dee Milliner (Alabama)
Phillip Thomas (Fresno State)

Doak Walker Award

Nation’s Outstanding Running Back

Calvin Hill

Montee Ball (Wisconsin)
Kenjon Barner (Oregon)Johnathan Franklin (UCLA)

Walter Camp All-America Player of the Year

Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

*College Football Hall of Fame Inductee


The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team:




Player of the Year
Presented by Anthony Munoz2004 Walter Camp Man of the Year

Manti Te’o

Notre Dame

Offensive Team


Johnny Manziel

Texas A&M

Wide Receiver

Marquise Lee


Wide Receiver

Terrance Williams


Tight End

Zach Ertz


Offensive Lineman

Jonathan Cooper

North Carolina

Offensive Lineman

Luke Joeckel

Texas A&M

Offensive Lineman

Taylor Lewan


Offensive Lineman

Chance Warmack



Barrett Jones


Running Back

Montee Ball


Running Back

Kenjon Berner


Running Back

Ka’Deem Carey


Defensive Team

Defensive Lineman

Jadeveon Clowney

South Carolina

Defensive Lineman

Star Lotulelei


Defensive Lineman

Damonte Moore

Texas A&M

Defensive Lineman

Bjoern Werner

Florida State


Jarvis Jones



C.J. Mosley



Manti Te’o

Notre Dame

Defensive Back

Johnathan Banks

Mississippi State

Defensive Back

Dee Milliner


Defensive Back

Jordan Poyer

Oregon State

Defensive Back

Phillip Thomas

Fresno State

Special Team


Dustin Hopkins

Florida State


Ryan Allen

Louisiana Tech

Punt Returner

Dri Archer

Kent State


Two additional awards were announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show hosted by Steele, Rinaldi and Dari Nowkhah on ESPNU:

  • Rimington Trophy (nation’s outstanding center):  Barrett Jones, Alabama

Jones is the first player from Alabama to win the Rimington and only the second Rimington winner to play for the National Championship in the same season (Brett Romberg of Miami (FL) was the 2002 winner). Jones is also the first player to have a Rimington Trophy and Outland Trophy since Minnesota’s Greg Eslinger won both in 2005.

  •  John Mackey Award (nation’s outstanding tight end): Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

Eifert is not only the first player from Notre Dame to win the Mackey award, but also the first player to win and play for the National Championship in the same season. Thirty-three of his 44 catches this season have resulted in a touchdown or first down and he leads the Irish with 12 receptions of at least 20 yards.                                                                                        

Several other awards were recognized during this year’s show:

  • Bronko Nagurski Trophy (nation’s outstanding defensive player): Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
  • Frank Broyles Award (top assistant coach): Bob Diaco, Notre Dame Defensive Coordinator
  • Rotary Lombardi Award (nation’s outstanding lineman): Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
  • William V. Campbell Trophy (academic success): Barrett Jones, Alabama
This release has a media kit: