LSU’s Les Miles Earns The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

Presented During The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday on ESPN

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (Dec. 7, 2011) — The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award will be presented to LSU head coach Les Miles as a part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN. 

In his seventh season at LSU, Miles led the Tigers to a 13-0 record for the first time in school history.  The Tigers have amassed 41 conference wins since Miles’ first season in 2005, which is more than any other SEC school. LSU’s current 8-0 record in league play was recently capped with a decisive 42-10 victory over Georgia, clinching Miles second SEC Championship with the Tigers.

Of LSU’s 13 wins this year, eight have come against ranked opponents and seven of those eight have been double-digit wins. The 2011 team has ten 20-point wins this season, is the only unbeaten team in the FBS and the defense has allowed an average of only 10.5 points per game (second fewest in FBS).

On Monday, Jan. 9, LSU will bring the nation’s longest winning streak – 14 straight – into the Allstate National BCS Championship game versus No. 2 Alabama. Should they win, LSU will be the first team to beat nine Associated Press top 25 teams in one season.

In addition to The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the 21st annual awards show will feature the live presentation of nine player awards; the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) Contribution to College Football Award to Roy Kramer; The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team; the Disney Spirit Award to the University of Alabama; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. 

Full details on this year’s presenters, finalists and show.                                   

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site,



Liz McCollum, Brener Zwikel & Associates, 813-421-0550 or

Gracie Blackburn, ESPN Communications,

This release has a media kit: